For the latest customer information on Coronavirus (COVID-19) click here. We are currently experiencing high call volume.
To help keep our lines free for emergencies, please get in touch using our contact us form

  • Independent Board Members

    Joyce McCarty (Vice Chair) Joyce is a Labour councillor for Wingrove ward and is also Deputy Leader of the Council.Alongside policy co-ordination work with the Leader, her main area of responsibility is to ensure that the Council works in the interests of fairness and tackling inequalities. She leads on financial inclusion and the Council’s response to the impact of welfare reform on the residents of the city. Joyce is a Director of our Abri Trading Limited Subsidiary Company and a member of the Finance and Performance Committee.
    Malcolm Page Malcolm joined the Board in 2015. He is Chief Operating Officer at Teesside University, joining in 2013 from his position as Executive Director of Commercial and Corporate Services at Sunderland City Council. He has previously worked as Deputy Chief Executive at the Regional Development Agency, One North East and is a fully qualified accountant. Malcolm brings with him considerable strategic, corporate and resource management experience and a strong track record of operating and delivering at Board level. Malcolm is the Chair of our Finance and Performance Committee and a Director of our Abri Trading Limited Subsidiary Company.
    Paul Scope Paul joined the Board in May 2015, having previously sat as Independent Vice Chair of the Audit Committee since August 2013. He is a partner in a major regional law firm, headquartered in Newcastle. Paul was previously an in-house solicitor for a FTSE 250 group of companies in London, before returning to his native North East. He has a great deal of experience in commercial and legal matters - and currently specialises in HR and employment law. He works with a diverse range of companies, including major housing organisations, and is a Governor of a Senior School in Whitley Bay. Paul is a Director of our Abri Trading Limited Subsidiary Company and a member of our Group Audit and Risk Committee.