Our Board has four reserved places for council nominees and eight places for independents, including the Chair. To find out more about our Chair and Board Members, please click on the links below. To find out more about the role of YHN Board members, visit A day in the life of a Board Member
  • Chair

    We are currently undertaking a recruitment exercise to appoint a Chair. Our Vice Chair, Cllr Joyce McCarty, will be acting as Chair in the interim.

  • Council Board members

    Linda Hobson  Linda was appointed to the Board by Newcastle City Council in May 2019. She was first elected to Newcastle City Council in 2011 and is the Labour Councillor for Blakelaw Ward where she grew up. Linda is a Registered Nurse, a lead activist for UNISON, and a graduate of Labour’s first Jo Cox Women in Leadership programme. She has worked within the NHS since 1997 and has lived in Newcastle all her life.   Linda was previously the Cabinet Member for Adult Services and is now Cabinet member for Housing. Through her Cabinet role Linda will ensure that Newcastle delivers on the belief that “everyone should have the right to a decent home’’.   Linda is a member of our Group Audit and Risk Committee.
    Joyce McCarty low res Joyce McCarty (Vice Chair) Joyce is a Labour councillor for Wingrove ward and is also Deputy Leader of the Council.Alongside policy co-ordination work with the Leader, her main area of responsibility is to ensure that the Council works in the interests of fairness and tackling inequalities. She leads on financial inclusion and the Council’s response to the impact of welfare reform on the residents of the city. Joyce is a Director of our Abri Trading Limited Subsidiary Company and a member of the Finance and Performance Committee.
  • Independent Board members

    Malcolm Page Malcolm joined the Board in 2015. He is Chief Operating Officer at Teesside University, joining in 2013 from his position as Executive Director of Commercial and Corporate Services at Sunderland City Council. He has previously worked as Deputy Chief Executive at the Regional Development Agency, One North East and is a fully qualified accountant. Malcolm brings with him considerable strategic, corporate and resource management experience and a strong track record of operating and delivering at Board level. Malcolm is the Chair of our Finance and Performance Committee and a Director of our Abri Trading Limited Subsidiary Company
    Paul Scope (3) low res Paul Scope Paul joined the Board in May 2015, having previously sat as Independent Vice Chair of the Audit Committee since August 2013. He is a partner in a major regional law firm, headquartered in Newcastle. Paul was previously an in-house solicitor for a FTSE 250 group of companies in London, before returning to his native North East. He has a great deal of experience in commercial and legal matters - and currently specialises in HR and employment law. He works with a diverse range of companies, including major housing organisations, and is a Governor of a Senior School in Whitley Bay. Paul is a Director of our Abri Trading Limited Subsidiary Company and a member of our Group Audit and Risk Committee.
    Richard Clark Richard joined the Board in September 2017. He has had a long career in housing and regeneration spanning several different types of organization including executive and non-executive roles in local authorities, an NGO, housing associations and consultancy sectors. Richard has worked in several English regions including Tyneside and London. Richard was the CEO of Midland Heart in a period where the association grew from 9,000 homes to one of 33,000 homes and became the largest non-specialist provider of care and support in Britain. The association was one of the leading bodies in the development of social investment and regeneration programmes in England in the 1990s. Richard has been a member of a number of charitable and partnership boards as well as being the national chair of the NHF and an innovative housing association in the North West and was awarded an OBE in 2003 for services to housing. Richard is the Chair of the Group Audit and Risk Committee.
    Kevin Lowry Kevin joined the Board in September 2017. He is a Housing Professional with 40 years experience. He has been a Chief Executive Officer of Housing Associations, Arms Length Management organisations (ALMO's) as well as Director of Housing for Local Authorities. He has also worked for Charities, Trusts and supported housing projects. Kevin has lived and worked in many parts of the country but has made his home in the North East since 2011. Kevin now runs a consultancy focussing on management and service improvement programmes, executive coaching and business reviews. Kevin is a member of the Group Audit and Risk committee.
    Helen Simpson Helen joined the Board in September 2017. She currently Chairs Trustees Unlimited, (a partnership which matches senior potential Trustees with charities who need their skills), leads consulting and coaching projects with Simpson & Associates and is a Trustee of the St Martin-in-the-Fields Charity. Helen previously held senior executive roles in business development. IT, transformation and strategy with BT and before that BP. After many years based in London she has returned home to the north and enjoys using her mix of commercial and charitable expertise to make a difference. Helen is a Director of our Asfaleia Limited Subsidiary Company.
  • Co-optees

    Bill Tebay

    Bill is a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Housing and has worked in social and affordable housing throughout a long and successful career.

    Most of his working life has been spent in the North East where he has occupied Director roles in housing management, development and asset management. Latterly Bill has worked in Worcester where, as Managing Director, he successfully merged two in house contracting teams to provide maintenance services to 3 housing associations comprising 22000 units.

    He was also responsible for a £5M refurbishment of three high rise blocks in the centre of Worcester and developed 250 new build units before returning to the North East in 2018.